����� � �������

Ocean Science Journalism Fellowship


The Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution (WHOI) is dedicated to research and education to advance understanding of the ocean and its interaction with the Earth system, and to communicating this understanding for the benefit of society.

WHOI Ocean Science Journalism Fellowships were established in 2000, and the next program will be held from September 7-12, 2014. The OSJ program is designed to introduce science journalists to the interdisciplinary and wide-ranging fields of oceanography and ocean engineering.

Through seminars, laboratory visits, and brief field expeditions, Ocean Science Journalism Fellows gain access to new research findings and to fundamental background information in engineering, marine biology, geology and geophysics, marine chemistry and geochemistry, and physical oceanography. Topics range from harmful algal blooms to deep-sea hydrothermal vents; from seafloor earthquakes to ice-sheet dynamics; from the ocean�s role in climate change to the human impact on fisheries and coastline change; from ocean instruments and observatories to underwater robots.

The program is a one-week, residential experience open to professional writers, producers, and editors working for print, broadcast, radio, and Internet media.


The ideal candidate will have at least two years of writing, producing, or editing experience for a general-interest audience. Freelancers, book authors, and writers from non-traditional media may also be considered, but should be able to show a substantial portfolio of work.

International journalists are welcome to apply.


All fellows receive a travel allowance, as well as room and board for one week.


Fill online application form. Please note that you still need to mail hard copies of writing samples to:

Erin Koenig - Ocean Science Journalism Fellowship
Mail Stop #16
Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
Woods Hole, MA 02543

More information

All applications and supporting materials must arrive by mail no later than May 16, 2014.

����� � ������� ����� � ������� ����� � �������